Secure Your Facebook Timeline

Secure Your Facebook Timeline

January 24, 2012 2:00 pm 0 comments

Facebook has become the place to keep everyone updated on everything you do during the course of the day. You have to keep in mind that things you post online can and will be used against you whenever possible. The best thing to do is secure who can see your posts and use some judgment on the content. We are starting to see more people having their houses robbed after they announced their vacation dates people getting fired from their jobs after bad mouthing their bosses.

Facebook’s new timeline feature makes it even easier to go through your past. Here are some tips borrowed from a About.com’s, Andy O’Donnel on how you can help secure your timeline!

Make all your past posts in your Timeline accessible to friends only

Facebook has a feature called Limit the Audience for Past Posts. This button will change all of your past posts from their current state to Friends Only. This is a global change which may impact pictures, videos and other posts that you had previously made public. These items will now be Friends Only but if friends are tagged in them then friends of friends may still be able to see them.

To enable the Limit the Audience for Pasts Posts feature:

1. Log into Facebook and click on the arrow at the top right corner of the page.

2. Choose Privacy Settings from the drop down menu.

3. Click the link that says Manage Past Post Availability.

You will then be presented with a warning that states: If you use this tool, content on your timeline youve shared with friends of friends or Public will change to Friends. Remember: people who are tagged and their friends may see those posts as well. It also lets you know that you have the option to individually change the audience of your posts.

4. Click the Limit Old Posts button to confirm the permissions change.

Set Your Default Privacy Setting for Future Timeline Posts

emWhenever you post something on Facebook in the timeline or otherwise, your default posting permissions are used./em For example, if your default setting is for friends only and you post a status update then only your friends will be able to see that status update in your timeline. You can customize your default setting for all future posts in the privacy settings menu. Heres how to do it:

1. Click the arrow in the top right corner of the screen and choose Privacy Settings from the drop down menu.

2. In the middle of the page you will see a section titled Control Your Default Privacy, choose either Friends or Custom to select individuals or groups lists. I recommend you DO NOT choose public as this lets the world see all of your future posts.

strongConsider enabling the Timeline Review and Tag Review features/strong

1. Click the arrow in the top right corner of the screen and choose Privacy Settings from the drop down menu.

2. Click the Edit Settings link in the How Tags Work section.

3. From the pop-up menu that appears, click the Off link.

4. Click the Disabled button from the pop-up window and set it to Enabled.

5. Click the Back button at the bottom of the pop-up window.

6. Choose the Off link from the Tag Review section of the pop-up and repeat the steps above to enable Tag Review.

Leave a reply


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com